Sign In Forgot Password

Shabbat/YomTov morning Zoom services

Saturday, June 19, 2021 9 Tammuz 5781

9:30 AM - 11:00 AM
Past Sessions
Saturday, June 12, 2021 2 Tammuz 5781 - 9:30 AM - 11:00 AM
Saturday, June 5, 2021 25 Sivan 5781 - 9:30 AM - 11:00 AM
Saturday, May 29, 2021 18 Sivan 5781 - 9:30 AM - 11:00 AM
Saturday, May 22, 2021 11 Sivan 5781 - 9:30 AM - 11:00 AM
Tuesday, May 18, 2021 7 Sivan 5781 - 9:30 AM - 11:00 AM
Monday, May 17, 2021 6 Sivan 5781 - 9:30 AM - 11:00 AM
Saturday, May 15, 2021 4 Sivan 5781 - 9:30 AM - 11:00 AM
Saturday, May 8, 2021 26 Iyyar 5781 - 9:30 AM - 11:00 AM

Korach

When is it justified to question authority? We regard the "founding fathers" of our country who defied the British crown as heroes. We view people like the Tien An Men "tank man", or those who challenged segregation in the US South or apartheid in South Africa as brave freedom fighters, while we don't feel the same way about the Whiskey Rebellion of 1794 or the January 6 insurrection. (Well, I guess the country is pretty divided about that last one!)
 
Tianasquare.jpg
 
When Korach and his cohort challenged the prevailing authority, their rebellion was brutally suppressed. Was that justified? Could it have been handled better?
 
(Note to self: if someone starts talking about the ground under me opening and swallowing me up - move!)
 
Sign up to leyn:
 
Please sign up so we know we'll get a minyan.
Sign up to attend:
 

The Zoom link for Shabbat and Yom Tov:
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/89811466265?pwd=SW5UMUlpZS9aRks5SGJaRnRWWUhDQT09

Parshat Korach
The Torah Reading: https://www.sefaria.org/Numbers.16.1-18.32?lang=bi&aliyot=1
Haftarah: https://www.sefaria.org/I_Samuel.11.14-12.22?lang=bi

Pages for popular siddurim can be found here:
https://tremontstreetshul.org/shabbatmorningsiddurs

Share Print Save To My Calendar
Fri, June 18 2021 8 Tammuz 5781